Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

I.O.W.A. book signing event

 

IMG_1995-002I went to the I.O.W.A (Imagine Other Worlds with Authors) event yesterday in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. I originally went to see a friend (Author Tricia Andersen), but also wanted to see the other authors.

The only issue I had with it was that it was hard to find the authors because they were so scattered. I think they could’ve benefited to having their very own area where they all congregated. Otherwise, it was an nice little event and I had fun attending.

While there, I also got to see my biggest, and most in-depth design I ever did, too. It was the life-size poster of Max from Breaking the Cycle. Though the books in the series now have new covers, Tricia put it up at the event so I could see it. I thought that was sweet of her.

Very neat thing to see my design in the “flesh”. This design was my hardest to date. A lot of  work went into this design because it lost a lot of detail when blown up. I think I repainted/blended every inch of that man by hand in PS. So, it’s actually a digital painting, which is why it turned out with such a painterly effect.  I think if anyone else but Tricia asked me to do a project like this, I would’ve said no.

Anyway, gripes aside, I’m attached to the design because of all the added work that went into it. If she ever has to ditch it because of it’s new cover, I’ll take it. Though….I’m sure the cover model we used for it might “fight” me for it. Yeah…sorry, bad MMA joke.

2 responses

  1. I would have been diplomatic. I would have flipped a coin.
    Thank you again for coming. It meant a lot to me!

    July 17, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Leave a Reply

