Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Forever Mine releases today!

Forever Mine releases today!

I’m excited to see this book’s reception.  Calvin is different from my other vampires.  He’s still an evil, blood-thirsty vampire, but he comes across more like a gentle giant in the hands of Felicia (Fee).  He is probably one of my favorite vampires, and it is my hope, he will be yours as well.  His patience with her is princely, and he treats her like a princess.  She is not his slave, he is hers.  One of my favorite lines from Calvin?

“For you, I’ll try to make my answer always be ‘yes’.”

========================================================================================

Here are some of the specs on the book.

foreverminecover3Buy it @secretcravingspublishing.com

Description: After her uncle dies, Felicia decides to visit the family she hasn’t seen since she was a child. After years of therapy, she believes she’s ready to face her past and won’t fall prey to her family’s delusional beliefs about vampires. But a dark childhood wasn’t Felicia’s only problem. She’s in love with a man she sees only in her dreams. Calvin. She convinces herself that Calvin is a figment of her imagination and tries to erase him from her thoughts. She thinks meeting her real family will give her closure on her parents’ murders, but instead she finds that everything she convinced herself wasn’t real, was. Soon she is forced to choose between the man she loves and the vampire hunters who call her their own.

=========================================================================================

Excerpt: 

“Some girls like older guys.” She reached forward and grabbed a handful of popcorn. “You’re old, aren’t you?” She tossed some in her mouth as she smirked. “And I still love you. So, there’s nothing wrong with liking older guys.”

“I’m ageless, so I’m neither old nor young. Just…” He licked his lips as he watched her toss a piece of popcorn in her mouth. “Eternal.” He tried not to make a disgusted face, but it came anyway.

Her voice was sweet and flirty, “Old.” She teasingly poked him in the chest.

“You think I’m…” He leaned over her, placing one of his hands on the other side of her hip. “Old?”

“Well, you are.” Giggling, she flicked his nose. “Like Dracula, except way sexier.”

“You like vampire movies?” One of his eyebrows rose as he gazed deep into her excited eyes. He could hear her heavy breath, see her eyes drink in his ready lips.

“Only the romantic ones.” Her heavy eyes slowly moved up to meet his. Her arms wrapped around his neck as her voice softened. “I don’t like movies without a love story in them. Dracula’s romantic, like you.”

“Not me…” His voice was light. “I like the blood!” Baring his fangs, he growled at her and slammed her into a laying position. Felicia’s eyes widened, and she drew her arms to her chest fearfully. Her terror caught him off-guard, and Calvin regarded her strangely. “What?” He made a sour face as he hovered over her.

“Don’t do that.” Her eyes narrowed on him. “That’s not sexy.”

“Why?” He mimicked her expression. “I was just playing with you. Wanna play vampire, little maiden?” He yanked on the collar of her shirt and tore it down the middle. It now lay open, exposing the skin of her chest. He chuckled when he saw the shock on her face. His lip curled as a low growl escaped his throat and he bore his fangs.

“Not like that.” Her words were quick like her breath, her fear still wearing thick on her face. Licking her lips, she touched his chest lightly, putting some distance between them. “Like nice, sexy vampires from the movies, not mean ‘eat me’ kind of vampires.” She tried to hide her nervousness with a wavering smile. “Sweet, romantic vampire.” She tapped his pecs as a shaky laugh escaped her lips. “I’m a lover, not a victim.”

“Then I have no idea how to play this game.” Gazing down at her, Calvin admired her smile. There was a clear love in his eyes, his expression softening. “Vampires aren’t nice, Fee.”

“You can be nice.” Her gentle hand fell on his cheek, Felicia pausing as she stared into his eyes. “Dracula had an eternal love. Like you have me.” Her voice was soft, a breathlessness in her whisper. “Tell me how much you love me. What you’ve wanted to say to me since the day that you lost me.”

She watched his grin slowly melt, his dark lashes almost kissing each other as he narrowed his eyes. “I know you have a speech prepared. I can tell. So tell me.” She tightened her grip around his neck, her lips brushing against his ear. “I need to hear it.”

“Okay.” He paused, a clear fear in his voice. Taking a few seconds to gather himself, he sucked in a few deep breaths as he caressed her cheek. Looking back at her, his words were soft as he stared at her with sad eyes. “Every night…I would lay awake, my arm outstretched as I stared at the ceiling. I couldn’t feel the heaviness of your body under my hand or the warmth of your breath on my fingers. I stared so hard until I could feel it. Until I could imagine every inch of you. Until I could hear your voice. But then…”

He loosened her grip and pushed a short strand of black hair away from her face lovingly. “It got harder and harder to remember. I’d try to remember the way your laugh sounded, the color of your eyes, but…I couldn’t. And it hurt.”

He clenched his jaw, and she could hear the scrape of his teeth as they slid over each other. “I had lost your body, and then I lost the vividness of my memories. I had no photographs, no paintings. Nothing to remind me of you. I would have given anything to see you again. Just one look, one glimpse to help me remember. I longed to remember the way your skin felt.”

He ran the back of his hand over her cheek. “The curve of your hips. The petal-like softness of your lips.” His finger trailed over her bottom lip lightly and skipped across the flat plateau. “And this look…” He gazed into her eyes, their blue like the deep, dark waters of the ocean.

“No amount of imagination could ever get something as perfect as you right….

4 responses

  1. Leta Fisher

    Yay!

    May 15, 2014 at 10:05 am

    • Thanks Leta!

      May 15, 2014 at 5:13 pm

  2. Good job, y’all!

    June 10, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

