Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Breaking The Cycle

 

 

a note fromsmBreaking the Cycle is the newest release from Tricia Andersen.  If you haven’t checked the book out, you should!  It’s already become a best seller on Amazon and Tricia’s publisher’s website.  Way to go Tricia!

She wrote the book as a tribute to her daughter, who has CVS, or Cyclonic Vomiting Syndrome.  The main character in the book also struggles with this.  I think it’s incredibly awesome that Tricia is donating most of royalties for the book to fund research for CVS.

She’s an amazing lady and I’m glad to call her one of my friends.  Not only is she my co-host on Freshly Booked, she’s the Editorial Director for Secret Cravings Publishing’s ezine, Cravings.  You’ll have to check out her other books and make sure to stop by one of her social media sites and say hello!

I am especially fond of this cover because it’s one of my designs. Isn’t it rockin’ hot? Hee hee.  The cover model was also an inspiration behind the book, so it was awesome he agreed to be on the cover.  Thanks Keoni!

So, please take some time to read more about this book and leave a comment with your thoughts.  I love comments and I’m sure Tricia does too!  Thanks again for stopping by!

~H.N.

==============================================================================================

btccoverpinklogo

Buy the book HERE

Book Description:

Max sacrifices everything to find an answer to Chloe’s illness.  But is it enough to save their relationship – and save her?

Max is excited when Chloe, a girl that works for the same gym he does, agrees to go on a date with him.  He is disturbed, though, when she becomes violently ill after he kisses her.  Max can’t shake how he feels about her.  He sacrifices his job and does everything he can to find an answer to her illness.  But is it enough to save their relationship – and save her?

Chloe can’t believe Max Thomas, the hottest guy at Roadie’s Gym, wants to go out with her.  When their date is a disaster, she thinks she’ll never see him again.  She is stunned when he reappears in her life and tries to find the answer behind whatever has made her sick since she was a child.  However, will he stick around or abandon her like her father did?  Can she trust him enough to let him into her heart?

 

===========================================================================================

Excerpt:

Max stepped inside the gym. It was deserted. He glanced around. The place was no Roadie’s. There was no perfect, stainless steel trim. There was no state-of-the-art equipment. He scrutinized the cardio machines that were lined three deep along a wall of frosted windows then scanned the weight equipment alongside it. Everything looked like it was in working order.

The rest of the room was lined with vinyl wrestling mats. There were signs indicating locker rooms back in the hallway. A staircase leading to a walkway on the second floor led to a couple offices and a conference room.

Suddenly, its door opened. Max steeled himself as a young, well-built, suit-clad man stepped out and leaned against the metal rail. His slicked–back, black hair made him look like a used car salesman. He smiled down at Max.

“Hey, Jack,” Max greeted coolly.

“What brings you to Hard Drive, Max?”

“I came to talk to you about the job offer you gave me.”

Jack laughed. “How many times did I offer a job to you?”

“At least a dozen times.”

“And how many times have you turned me down?”

“Just as many.”

“Why would I offer it to you again?”

“Because, to quote your own words, ‘I’m the best you could possibly dream of getting’.”

“So, you suddenly got over your hang ups about working here?”

Max took a deep breath and exhaled slowly. “No. I am still vehemently against training your guys to the best of my ability so that you can toss them into an octagon and let them beat the crap out of each other. Seems to make the job pointless, don’t you think?”

“I don’t toss them in there. They fight of their own free will.”

“Is the job available or not?”

“Of course, it is.” Jack was smug.

“I have stipulations before I agree to it.”

Jack snickered. “Of course, you do. More money? Do you want me to buy you a better car?”

Max glared at him. “I want an assistant. Full time with benefits, especially medical. I write her schedule. She answers to me. Your fighters don’t touch her. If they do, we’re both out of here. Don’t raise the salary you offered me. Lower it, if you must. But I get my assistant.”

“You really think you need an assistant?”

“How many MMA fighters do you have here?”

Max could see Jack’s brow crunch as he computed the numbers in his head. “Thirty.”

“Then, yes, I need an assistant.”

“And you realize that you aren’t going to teach Tae Bo here, right? You’re training my MMA fighters. And your assistant will be, too.”

Max paused. “Yes. I know what I’ll be doing.”

Jack pushed himself away from the rail and stood straight. “You’re hired. And so is your assistant. There’ll be no change in your salary. I’ll negotiate your assistant’s with you at a later time. I promise it’ll be fair. Be here Monday to sign your contracts. And give Roadie your two weeks’ notice. You belong to Hard Drive now.”

Jack strode back into the conference room, closing the door behind him. Max shot one last glare at the door before he walked out the front door.

Max couldn’t wait to tell Chloe the news. He sped through Minneapolis to her house, his heart racing in excitement. He scanned the property as he shifted the car into part.

Chloe was digging the trowel deep into the moist soil. She scraped out the black dirt then turned to the potted, pale pink hyacinths at her side. Gently tapping the bottom of the pot to free the plant, she set it in the hole in the ground. She patted the extra dirt around the flower to secure it.

She turned, noticing him in the car alongside the curb. She brushed the dirt off her hands and stood as Max threw open the door and jumped out. He raced across the yard to her.

“Max, what are you doing here?” she asked.

“I have the best news, Chloe,” he gushed.

“What is it?”

“I found you a job. You’re already hired. You’re going to be my assistant.”

“You got me re-hired at Roadie’s?”

“No. I’m taking a job at Hard Drive as a trainer there. You’ll be an assistant trainer. Jack, the owner, is going to pay you a generous salary. It’s a full time job, with benefits like medical insurance. I get to write your schedule, so I can work around all the third Thursdays. And if you’re sick on other days, I’ll smooth it over with Jack.”

“Isn’t Hard Drive that MMA gym?” she asked warily.

“Yes. Jack has been trying to get me to work there for years.”

“But you love Roadie’s. Why would you quit?”

“Because you need a job.”

“Max, you shouldn’t have given up a job you love so much.”

Max touched her chin with his fingers and tilted her face to his. “You need the job, Chloe. You need the insurance. Come on. Come and work with me again.”

A smile slowly crept across her lips. “Sure, Max. Thank you. Really, you shouldn’t have. But thank you so much.”

“You’re welcome. We need to meet with Jack to sign our contracts. Then, we start in two weeks.”

Chloe bit her lip uneasily. “Max, there is one thing. All those guys. I mean, being around men makes me nervous. That’s why I usually taught classes geared for women.”

He grinned at her. “I thought about that. It’s part of the deal. They bother you at all, we’ll walk. Jack won’t let that happen. All right?”

She smiled again. “All right. Thank you again.”

“Sure. See you Monday?”

“I’ll be there.”

=======================================================================================

Find Tricia here:

Website: www.triciaandersen.com

Blog: www.insidethiswritersmind.com

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/t.l.andersenauthor

Twitter:  www.twitter.com/triciaandersen

Youtube:  www.youtube.com/channel/UC-urTJQmAbPpgO4aJ6PooMQ

Pinterest:  www.pinterest.com/tricialandersen

3 responses

  1. That’s a great cover to go with a great read.

    January 27, 2014 at 12:28 pm

    • I think so too 😉

      January 27, 2014 at 1:30 pm

  2. Tricia

    Thanks for having me on!!

    January 28, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

