Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

New Year’s Eve Blog Hop

Hello!  And welcome to the New Year’s Eve Blog Hop.

“What are you doing on New Years?”

Answer this question to be entered to win one of my books! Specify which one you wish to win in the comments.  Also leave your email address so I know where to send your prize (if you don’t, I can’t put you in the drawing).

Also, check out the info at the end of the post to win more prizes and books!

 

========================================================================

What am I doing for New Years?  

I’m staying home with my boys and eating snack foods all night.  It’s in the negatives here, so why go out?  You think I’m nuts?  Plus, I don’t like big crowds and am not a bar type of person.  The only times I’ve gone out on New Year’s was when my bf was djing somewhere and I got dragged along (that’s the only way I’ll go out).

So, it’s celebrating at home and watching the ball drop on TV for us.

bloodlustoct2What am I looking forward to in 2014?

Besides book releases, I’m hoping my sister makes her goal to raise money for a lift van for my niece and for spring to get here.  Lastly, I hope this new year brings good news and health to myself and my loved ones.  It’s been a tough year both financially and emotionally for a lot of us.  So bring on the goodness 2014!

Things I’m thankful for this year?

Signing my first book with SCP last January, getting to work with my first ever cover model on a design (thanks Tricia!), and seeing my little boy start school.  He’s so smart😀

Additional information:

The Grand Prize will be drawn on January 3, 2014.  Enter for this and other additional rafflecopter prizes HERE.

  • The Grand prize, which will be chosen from the rafflecopter contest include: a $150.00 Amazon or Barnes and Noble gift card (winners choice) SSLY Key Chain, a signed copy of Bohemian Grove by T.M. Williams, an E-book of Maverick Touch: The Cat by Ashley Nemer, e-book Scorned (LeKrista Scott, Vampire Hunted) by Tyffani Clark Kemp, paperback copy of Summertime by Christina Cole, a signed copy of Mail Order Brides of the West: Trudy by Debra Holland, a Godiva Chocolate Basket Courtesy of Morgan Wyatt and an awesome prize, a 30 minute tarot card reading via Skype or telephone by author Shauna Aura Knight!

Click on the badge below to visit other participating blogs and enter to win more prizes!

1525192_638339356233510_1857890555_n

==========================================================================

And for a treat….here is an excerpt from Forever Black, my January release!

forever Black (nightwalkers 2) coverHis arm slid behind her back, and he pulled her to him gently. She didn’t pull away from him this time. Her body melted into his as she lay her head on his chest. It felt good here—the smell of his cologne, the cold, comforting kiss of his silky dress shirt. Her head was fuzzy, and she still couldn’t concentrate. As if by habit, she re-adjusted her position and cuddled closer to him.

“Would you like to hear a story?” He smiled as he watched her nod, her grip around his waist tightening. His voice was soft, his chin nestling into her soft, black curls. “A dreamer wanders in a field of tall, blowing grasses, the soft scent of lilacs filling her nostrils.”

He loved having her in his arms, that familiar shape that was molded to fit into his arms perfectly. Though he had deep feelings for her, which had him aching to do more than hold her, he didn’t indulge them. He simply took in her warmth.

His smooth words dripped off his lips like the sweetest nectar. His voice was heavy and deep, but carried the weight of a butterfly’s wings. “Clouds flow slowly down a sea of blue over her head, crossing the sky that keeps her eyes from seeing heaven. The sun casts its warm light upon her hair, making it shine like a million threads of spun gold. Dear, sweet dreamer says the sun, a deal I will make with thee. Love me, and I shall gift you with wings that will take you past the clouds and to the gilded gates of heaven.”

She closed her eyes as she waited for him to continue. When he didn’t, she spoke, “Why did you stop? I want to hear the rest of the story.”

“As you wish.” He laughed softly. “The dreamer walks on, ignoring the promise of heaven from the sun. Darkness invades the realm of light. The vicious battle pierces the clouds, their blood spreading out into the sea of blue and slowly pushing the light from the sky. The sky darkens. The ruler of the night floats like a sentinel in the sky. His eyes are hidden, but always upon her.

“Dear, sweet dreamer, the moon says, a deal I will make with thee. Love me, and I shall gift you with eternal beauty and make you Queen. The dreamer ponders the offer, but then refuses. Again, he offers—together we will taste the blood of the sun and murder the clouds, so you may see the heaven that lies beyond. You will never hunger under my rays, and in the darkness, I shall mold your every dream. Give me that to which the sun desires, love me, oh dear dreamer.”

He paused as his fingers slowly stroked the surface of her jacket.

She waited, but he never finished. Her head rose to look at him. “So, what did she choose?”

A wicked smile filled out his perfect lips. His emerald eyes fell on hers as he spoke softly, “The devil, of course.”

She laughed as she lay her head back down on his chest. “You’re definitely going in my next book.”

“I do not wish to become immortalized in such a fashion.”

“You don’t wish to be a perfect prince in my imagination?”

“Imagination is for children. What you produce as a writer is art, a voice that opens a vein and leaves the reader lapping at the blood that has been drawn. You are an incredible writer, Ashleigh.” His tone softened a little, “But please refrain from calling me an emerald-eyed snake.”

27 responses

  1. For some reason like buttons are not loading for me so will wish you happy new year on my way through.

    December 31, 2013 at 5:29 am

    • Thanks Paula! I stopped by your way and said the same thing😀 I can’t wait to see the backside of 2013 either.

      December 31, 2013 at 2:25 pm

  2. I will spend New Year’s Day working on two books in progress and brushing up some documentation on a consulting contract I’m working. What I hope for in 2014 is increased readership and improved writing.

    December 31, 2013 at 8:01 am

    • Two books? You’re an over achiever😀 I wish you all the best in the new year, and I think your wish is a great one. Don’t work too hard though!

      December 31, 2013 at 2:28 pm

  3. Kathy O

    Have a quiet night at home, toast in the New Years with my husband. The Bloodlust Prince sounds like a good read. Thanks for the hop and giveaway.
    Koala571 (at) msn (dot) com

    December 31, 2013 at 10:49 am

    • Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. The Bloodlust Prince is actually my personal favorite😉 And I’m with you on the night at home, that’s what I’m doing too.

      December 31, 2013 at 2:30 pm

  4. Big, juicy book contracts for us all. Happy New Year!

    December 31, 2013 at 2:27 pm

    • I love that! That’s a very awesome wish. Happy almost New Year to you too! Thanks for stopping by😀

      December 31, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  5. Not sure yet other than going bowling with my son and honey.

    anovelgathering2013(at)gmail(dot)com

    December 31, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    • That sounds fun. I hope you have a great time!

      December 31, 2013 at 3:35 pm

  6. Hi H.N – I’ll be in bed snug as a rug before midnight, but hey, that can be fun too!
    Tomorrow, I’m Smoking a Turkey, and I’ll probably write all day.
    Happy New Year!

    December 31, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • Ooo…turkey, that sounds yummy and I love the writing part!

      December 31, 2013 at 3:38 pm

  7. You are most welcome! But we also have to thank our fantastic cover model too!!

    December 31, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    • You can thank him for me😀

      December 31, 2013 at 7:06 pm

  8. Heidi, your book sounds yummy. Tomorrow I’ll be working on Book 4 of the Wytchfae series, which is coming up due soon. 2014 blessings to you and yours. Best of luck with your writing and readership.

    December 31, 2013 at 5:27 pm

    • Thanks! And best of luck, to you as well😀

      December 31, 2013 at 7:08 pm

  9. bn100

    Happy New Year! Celebrate with friends

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

    December 31, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    • Party on! All right! Happy New Year to you too😀

      December 31, 2013 at 8:22 pm

  10. Cape Fear Libn

    My hubby & I already did our traditional thing–We went to the beach this morning and took a LONG (2 hour) walk, picking up lots of shells along the way. It’s a wonderful spot to reflect on the past year and see the infinite possibilities open in the new year.
    I think Secret Scarlet sounds interesting.
    capefearlibn@gmail.com

    December 31, 2013 at 9:58 pm

    • A walk on the beach sounds very relaxing. I wish I was close enough to go to one!

      January 1, 2014 at 10:42 am

  11. I’m blog hopping! Nothing exciting this year, but I am having fun! Happy New Year.
    Thank you for joining our hopt

    December 31, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    • As long as you’re having fun, everything’s good. And you’re welcome. This is my first hop and I’m having fun too. Thanks for letting me participate.

      January 1, 2014 at 10:40 am

  12. The book sounds great. Love the cover!

    January 1, 2014 at 8:33 am

    • Thanks! I designed the cover😀

      January 1, 2014 at 10:38 am

  13. My email is jeanine.mcadam@gmail.com oops!

    January 1, 2014 at 8:33 am

  14. Wow, a whole year ago. Pretty cool. Happy New Year!🙂

    January 2, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    • I know, it’s been an amazing journey and I’m thankful for every minute. Happy New Year to you as well😀

      January 3, 2014 at 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

