Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

A Letter to Readers

a note from

Dear Readers,

There is so much I want to tell you.  I could personalize this post to my specific readers but that’ll be for another day.  First I’d like to share some things with you.  As an author, I am familiar with a different side of publishing/reading/writing than a reader is.  I’ve conjured a list of things we writers/authors want you to know that you might not.

Here goes…

1. Leave reviews

I’m sure you hear this one all the time.  Why?  Because people read reviews and based on what others have said, they will either be tempted to buy or not to buy a book.  So whether you loved or hated a book, rate it. (see number 5 on reviewing etiquette).  Also we love knowing what you’ve thought of our book.

2. If you ask to review a book for an author, most likely they will give you a free book

Also you get a chance to meet the brains behind the awesomeness. That’s worth it right??  So if you like an author’s books, send them a message and ask them about it.  I’m sure you’d get a yes.

3. Don’t be afraid to approach us/message us

We LOVE praise, and talking about our books.  If you want to talk to me about how sexy you think Caleb or Christian are I would love to gush with you.  Also by contacting us, whether it’d for something bad or good, you give us insight about what our readers think and we are always looking for feedback.

4. Consider being a beta reader

If you love books and want free ones, there are millions of writers willing to give them to you.  Granted, they are rough drafts so they won’t be perfect.  This gives you a chance to give valuable input to an author and maybe add some of your ideas into the story line.  You can’t do that after a book’s published.

5. Don’t review a book unless you’re going to give it three or more stars

Okay, now some people may disagree with me, but this is my opinion.  If you hated a book that much don’t leave a review, especially when the book has only a few (or no) reviews.  This can be detrimental to an author and affect their sales.  Everyone has their likes and dislikes, and just because you hated it, doesn’t mean someone else will.  So if you hate it, don’t leave a review because most likely you and the book were incompatible.

A final note to add here-never write anything on the internet that you couldn’t say to someone’s face.  I think that should be a rule.  So don’t write something nasty just because you’re hiding behind a computer screen.

6. Don’t pirate our books

Initiation is on a torrent.  Everywhere, I swear.  Not only did I miss out on all the royalties for all those books downloaded, it’s illegal.  So please, buy our books, don’t steal or share them.  And if you downloaded a pirated version of Initiation (I know there are hundreds of you who did), leave a review at least!  Come on!

7.  Have a blog or share on social media what you’re reading

Even if it’s just a one sentence thing telling what book you’ve read or are currently reading.  It could be a post on facebook, a tweet or a review on goodreads.  It gives us exposure and helps us reach more readers.  It’s a little thing but it goes a long way.

8.  Please, please, if you have a major issue with our books contact us before posting it on the internet

This one is mostly aimed at self pub authors.  Okay, so we know most self pubs can’t afford an editor and there are usually a lot of grammatical errors in their books.  But instead of posting a nasty review saying how bad of a writer they are and how their stuff was filled with errors, tell them about it-in private.  It’s easy to contact us, almost all of us are on social media.  So shoot us a simple message telling us about it. Keep in mind, your review is permanent and will follow them around even after they ‘fix’ the grammar issues in a later version.

9. Most writers aren’t rich and we don’t make a lot from our books

I’ve been fortunate to make a little from my books but a lot of writers are actually in the red when it comes to their books.  Most of us have real jobs (mine sucks by the way) outside writing.  It’s the dream of every author to make writing a full time job, but I have millions of books to sell before I can do that.  It costs money for ads, publishing, cover design, promo, contests, gifts, etc.  That all comes out of our own pockets.  Most indie or small press authors spend more than they make on promoting their books.  It takes A LOT of time and effort to promote a book.  So thank us for all our hard work by buying our books and leaving reviews.

10.  Buy my books

Why?  Because they’re awesome and I know you’d love them.  And did I mention Blood Kisses (it comes out this month) has a mega hot rock star in it?  That’s reason enough!  So, check out the first book of my Nightwalkers series when it comes out!

Lastly, this is a list from a small press author, so it may not apply to those big guys like J.K. and Stephanie Meyer.  I have a lot of writer friends, so if any of you want to add to my list, please go ahead!  And as always I love to hear from you!

10 responses

  1. Tricia

    I think you summed it up pretty well!!

    November 2, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    • You don’t have anything to add?

      November 2, 2013 at 8:11 pm

  2. Tricia

    Leave reviews, feel free to show your love to your favorite authors, please don’t pirate…Nope – I think you covered it.

    November 2, 2013 at 8:37 pm

  3. Lovetiggi's Book Reviews and Promotions

    This absolutely so right on! Thank You I am going to re-blog this because you have hit very specific and crutial areas.
    So sorry to hear your book was pirated. That is so wrong on so many levels.

    Lovetiggi

    November 2, 2013 at 9:35 pm

    • Yeah, I know! They could have at least left a review, right? Usually when you find your book pirated somewhere you send the site/person a take down notice but when it’s on a torrent you have no idea who’s sharing it so it’s almost impossible to stop. I’m glad you enjoyed my post! And thanks so much for the reblog! 😀

      November 3, 2013 at 8:01 am

  4. Lovetiggi's Book Reviews and Promotions

    Reblogged this on Lovetiggi's Book Reviews and Promotions and commented:
    This is so correct I just have to share!

    November 2, 2013 at 9:40 pm

  5. You’ve hit so many good points, Heidi, especially the importance of reviews. I will say…and I hate saying this, because I know it probably makes me sound like a huge bitch to fellow writers. If you’re going to self-publish something, make sure it’s as well edited as possible. Although it’s definitely not right for someone to slander a book just because they can hide behind a computer screen, on our (the writer’s) end I don’t think it’s write to ask for money for something that is poorly edited. I mean, if there are some errors that’s fine -I’ve seen small mistakes in traditionally published books.

    November 2, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    • *right to ask for money

      November 2, 2013 at 11:35 pm

      • I totally agree. You’ve brought up a good point. I’ve read a lot of self pubs that made me cringe because of the bad editing and others that were edited just like a traditionally published book. I have an editor and a proofer after that and we work hard to make sure there’s no errors, but some still slip in-so errors are in all books. The sad thing is that you never know which one you’re going to get when you pick up a self-pubed book. It’s people that don’t bother to do a great job editing that makes the rest of the self-pub authors get a bad name. I think there’s a policy on Amazon (I think it’s amazon) that lets you return a book if you’re unsatisfied with it, which is good but horrible at the same time. It allows people to read a book and return it a week later saying something was wrong with it so they get a free book. Not cool. But I do agree that if a book was filled with mistakes and was not worth the four bucks you paid for it, you should get a refund. Whether self pubed or traditional, you’re ‘selling’ something and you should make sure the product you’re giving is the best you can make it. But I still believe a customer should contact the author in private, tell them about the bad editing, get a refund and allow the author to take down the book and fix the issue. This is how it should be ideally, but we all know people are not that polite.

        November 3, 2013 at 8:19 am

Leave a Reply

