Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Checking In…

checking in

I’ve been absent on here, mostly because I’ve been busy.  My thoughts are scattered this week so in this post I’m just gonna ramble.

I finished Forever Black last week.  I’ll give it an intro in a separate post for anyone too lazy to go check out it’s page 😉  It needs some more tweaking but it’ll get done.  I think my betas for the first one could kick start me into getting it edited if they begged (hint hint).  It does look awesome though.  And….there will be a definite third book in the series.

I got to work with an editor this week, which was an awesome experience.  Ha ha, it shows how much I don’t know about grammar. Because of what I learned, I’m going back to Christian’s Kisses: Seed of the Master and tweaking it before it comes up for editing (in June I think?).  I’ve also decided I like the second book better.  Maybe it’s because Christian’s a softie in that one and it’s more on the horror side than a full on romance.  I still love the scene where Josh saves Addison.  It’s one of my favorites.

I’m also debating something.  Everyone knows The Bloodlust Prince is my baby. After having someone offer to ‘buy’ it last year, I’ve been holding onto it quite tightly.  I’m leery to send it to any publishers (though I probably should) or self publish it.  Right now I’m stalling with this book.

Here are my goals and stuff I ‘should’ be doing:

Things I learned this week:

  • My son is smarter than me
  • How to format texting in my stories (love this one-thanks Tabitha)
  • Editing is fun when you actually have a goal and a concrete reason to do so.

Frustrations:

  • I’m struggling with negative thoughts.  I worry about failure as an author way too much. Maybe it’s not a confidence issue but more of an avoidance tactic.   
  • My Uncle  Jack died this week.  Kyle grew upset when we heard me talking about it to his dad.  He thought his ‘Uncle Jack’ (my brother) had died.  It was the first talk about death I’ve had with him.  He’s four.  I was hoping to put that off until he was older.
10 responses

  1. I was wondering where you’d wandered off to. Editing is so difficult for me. I think I need someone to sit down beside me and say, “think about this scene.” “Is this character strong enough?” I’m just never sure what’s worth doing anything to.

    Understand your issue with negative thoughts. I’ve been thinking about quitting this or at least dropping the pursuit of publishing.

    May 7, 2013 at 11:31 am

    • Don’t drop the pursuit. You’ve got some awesome talent and if you try hard enough you’ll get published. The worst thing about getting published is the fear of getting rejected-well it is for me at least. More readers means more opportunities for bad reviews. Ouch…

      May 7, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      • I’m not a fan of that either. That’s part of what makes me wonder if its not worth it. Between editing and bad reviews, I’m just not sure I’ll make it beyond what I post on my blog. You’re doing great though and that’s awesome.

        May 7, 2013 at 1:12 pm

        • Thanks, I’m trying to do great (er) lol.

          I know how you feel because I feel (or have felt) like you do. Like you won’t get anywhere. It all comes down to one thing-writing makes us happy. It’s all that stupid pressure to become published or getting bad reviews that keeps us down. I think as long as you hang in there, you’ll get a break someday. It’s the waiting part that sucks. You’re a great writer. Hey- you can get me to read so that says something 😉

          Have you sent any of your work to publishers?

          May 7, 2013 at 3:19 pm

          • No because I don’t feel like anything I have is polished enough to try.

            May 7, 2013 at 3:22 pm

  2. First, I’m sorry about your uncle.
    If it’s any comfort, any time I get an e-mail from Tabitha there’s a little voice in my head that screams “What am I doing? I can’t do this!!!” Truthfully? The little voice is wrong and it gets quieter as each e-mail comes until the final one arrives with your publication date. Not saying it disappears. It’s a shrill whisper in my head right now. I’m just too tired to listen.

    May 7, 2013 at 3:54 pm

  3. Thanks Tricia. I’m enjoying the editing part because I’m learning a lot. Though I feel like an idiot because there’s so much I do wrong grammar-wise. It’s the release part that actually makes me the most nervous. You just finished the edits on your first book, right? Or are you working on your second now?

    May 7, 2013 at 5:01 pm

  4. Leta Fisher

    Begging here or grovelling which ever you prefer!
    Leta

    May 8, 2013 at 1:39 am

    • Aww…Leta! Because of you, it’ll be next on my list. I have to get through editing with my Christian’s Kisses series then I’ll get right on it. I love that you’re so excited! It makes my day 🙂

      May 8, 2013 at 10:07 am

Leave a Reply

