Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

The Geek

discussion copy

What makes a book good?

It seems like an easy question and you can give me a hundred reasons to support your answer but-

As an writer I’ve thought deeper about this. So here’s my opinion….

You write an awesome story, one that has everything you love.  Action, adventure, the perfect man and great characters.  This is your story.  Your perfect.  But it’s not everyone’s perfect-maybe not even a single other person’s perfect.

I constantly worry about people hating my books.  I love them but why are they good?  I can give you a hundred reasons to support my answer but-

What if you and a million other people don’t like them?

It reminds me of being in school, some people are popular and some aren’t.  You might be a geek but that doesn’t make you better or worse than anyone else.  It just makes you different.  We need to remember it’s okay to be a geek of the writing world.  It’s okay to get passed over as a prom date and lose to the hottie with the fake blonde hair and awesome rack.

We need to remember every time we share our stories, every time we get a bad review and every time we see someone with more fans than us that the writing world will always a popularity contest.   We’ll always envy the popular kids.  It doesn’t matter if it’s not high school anymore, there will always be people who will hate us, ones that overlook us and then some that will think we’re super cool.  It’s just how it goes.

We don’t need to feel ashamed of being a geek who watches Star Trek or cries at the end of a good video game.   There’s nothing wrong with your writing or you.  You’re not doing anything wrong by being yourself and telling your perfect fairytale.  So don’t give up when you feel like a failure.  Keep writing.  Keep being yourself and don’t copy the popular kids.

So even if  you never make it in the writing world, you should be proud of yourself-to see your writing for what it is-your perfect.  After all, you write to satisfy your need, your desire.  You don’t write for me or to be like the popular kids.  You do it because it’s what you love, it satisfies your urge to tell a story, your dreams.

So my advice is to embrace your individuality and love what you write.  Forget about the cool kids, their parties suck.  Join mine-I have shaving cream, whizzy cheese and some Scene it the Xbox.  We’ll have way more fun, I promise. 😉

So as I take a deep breath and try to shake all my bad thoughts I will tell myself;

Me is the reason I write, me is who should be my greatest fan.

2 responses

  1. Well said. 🙂

    March 5, 2013 at 3:24 pm

    • Good advice for myself too I think 😉

      March 5, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

