Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

My Valentine

inside the mind of a preschooler

Kyle comes rushing in the door holding a bag of candy and flowers.  He was proud that he had picked out the presents himself.  The flowers were brightly colored carnations and the candy an assortment of chocolate hearts.

He then says in a teasing, playful voice, “Mommy!  I have a surprise for you…”  He then throws the candy and flowers at me almost hitting me in the face and says, “I got you lots of hearts because I love you lots and lots!  Happy Valentine’s Day Mommy!”

I then gave him a hug and a kiss and said, “Thanks baby.  I love you too.”

“I love you lots and lots and lots.”

“I love you more.”

“No.  I do more.”  Then ends the girly conversation and he gets down to business.  He looks at the candy, making a hyper gimme gimme motion with his hands as he bounces up and down, “Okay let’s eat them now.  Daddy said we couldn’t open them cause they’re your present.”

Then I asked, playfully poking him in the belly, “Can I have your heart cause you’re my Valentine?”

Then he started pulling at his shirt overdramatically and grunting, “Ah! Ah!  It wouldn’t come outta my chest!”  He then started to whine as he slapped his chest, “Ah! Ah!”

“That’s okay.  I was just teasing.  You can’t take out your heart.”

He frowned and then said, “Sorry Mommy.”  Then in the next second, he grabs the flowers and tries to rip them open, “I want to hold my flowers now.  Take them out.”

4 responses

  1. Heidi he is too cute! He is going to be a heartbreaker when he grows up!

    February 15, 2013 at 9:41 am

    • I hear that a lot. It’s gonna come true someday lol.

      February 15, 2013 at 2:28 pm

  2. Little Slice of Heaven

    Awe that is so sweet. I love it. 🙂

    February 17, 2013 at 11:29 am

    • I know 🙂

      February 17, 2013 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

