Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Handwriting Analysis: Lying

handwritting anal.

When someone leaves an extra space in their sentence, it can hint that they are lying.  I didn’t have time to scan in a written example so I’ll type a sentence instead.  You’ll still get the general idea;

“I would love to   help you tomorrow.”

“I made the   cake myself.” 

“I was working late at   work.”

“I love  you.”

I have yet to note this quirk in someone’s writing but I will be looking for it now.  I don’t know if it’s entirely true because there are times were I find myself putting a space like that in one of my written sentences when I pause to think about what I am writing next.  Maybe this is only true when speaking about something that you would lie about, like telling your wife you were at    work when in reality you were banging your girlfriend.

Interesting little bear….interesting.

7 responses

  1. tocksin

    These days very seldom do we see people’s handwriting, besides maybe their texting, but i hate trying to catch people in a lie, it makes me feel embarrassed for them, and i think what did I do to make them resort to lying. Infidelity seems to be a subject for you, it was mine for years.

    February 7, 2013 at 9:37 am

    • It isn’t an interest in infidelity, it’s my need to KNOW more about the way people’s minds work. I’ve always been interested in psychology and I ‘want’ to know everything. What people are thinking, why they think it, etc. It’s one of those things I love to do research on. I’m obsessed with learning more about it and how things in our subconscious can show on the outside-hence learning how to do handwriting analysis.

      And yes, we don’t write in long hand as much as we used to-there’s even an app for grocery lists now.

      February 7, 2013 at 2:40 pm

      • tocksin

        just like you were reading between the lines as to what and how people write i was reading between your lines, but in some way we are all touched by what is true and not true. I believe you!

        February 7, 2013 at 2:51 pm

        • Infidelity does bother me though. Too many people aren’t loyal anymore and it’s scary at how many couples break up because of it. I hate that it’s become the ‘norm’ for a lot of couples. I’m a serious doubter, so I guess I always worry my man could do something like that too. Like because I think he’s awesome another person might too. So yes, I do think about it sometimes. But I haven’t had it happen to me yet though (knock on wood). I’ve had issues with a lot of ‘liars’ so an infidelity of friendships and loving relationships (family not romantic) make me very untrusting of people. I admit that. So in a way you are right.

          February 7, 2013 at 3:05 pm

          • tocksin

            we are both well on our way to knowing more than most people care to know, fun to have you along

            February 7, 2013 at 3:22 pm

            • You too 😉

              February 7, 2013 at 4:10 pm

  2. I guess I constantly lie then because I am terrible for doing this but I think it is usually down to poor editing or not paying attention when hurrying – strangely I do it more on twitter where characters are limited and every one counts lol

    February 20, 2013 at 6:46 am

Leave a Reply

