Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Update

checking in

“One night away from you is but a breath compared to the eternity that I vowed to spend with you.” – Christian’s Kisses Book Three

To do list:

  • Edit the last few pages of Secret Scarlet and send it to my awesome reviewer Jennifer 😉

  • Pick whether I’m working on Christian’s Kisses Book 3 or Nightwalkers: Forever Black.  Bouncing between them isn’t working, either is being super hyped about finishing both them!  This needs to stop.   Rawr!  Bad Heidi’s!

  • Take Kyle to the train store to get Rosy and Bertie because he made his potty goals

  • Stop playing with my new phone.  Texting at work is getting out of hand as is Adam trying to Skype with me constantly (from the other room :P)

Current WIP of the week:

  • Christian’s Kisses:  Book Three (doesn’t have a title yet)

  • Nightwalkers:  Forever Black

Things I’m thankful for:

  • Pandora Radio-You make my ideal writing environment with the Darkest Days radio station you created for me.  Super loves…

  • Jennifer:  For being my beta reader and for all your helpful advice with the first draft of Nightwalkers.

  • Saturdays:  It’s the weekend and better than Sunday because I know I can sleep in the next day.

  • Netflix:  Thomas the tank engine.  Enough said.

  • Pepsi:  Just cause it tastes good.

  • My new phone for entertaining me all weekend.

  • For the great reviews I’ve recently gotten on The Bloodlust Prince and Christian’s Kisses: Seed of the Master

Annoyance of the week:

Girl:  “So and so wants a copy of your books, where do I buy them?”

Me:  “They want to buy them?”

Girl:  “Yeah-but they don’t want to read them.  They just want to buy them because they can say they know an author.  They don’t like the vampire stuff you write.”

Me:  “Ouch.”  A hiss escapes through my gritted teeth as I draw in a deep breath. “Totally uncool….”

4 responses

  1. TheOthers1

    What? Who says that? Some people are totally lame. But obviously there’s a ton of other stuff to be thankful for. And I don’t know how you manage to crank out so many novel length stories at one. I just don’t have that kind of stamina.

    January 28, 2013 at 3:51 pm

    • Ha ha, stamina? I like that word 😀 I’m a fast typer maybe? Now if I HAD a reason to complete one-like being a professional/paid writer and having a deadline-I wonder how much faster I could do it. Scary thought. And yes! I thought the same thing about that conversation with that woman. Who says something like that? Is it bad that I said they were unavailable right now because they pissed me off?

      January 28, 2013 at 4:01 pm

  2. YOU are a busy girl! And your annoyance of the week should be the annoyance of the year. It reminds me of rich people who buy priceless art to put in their giant mansions without even knowing, much less caring who made it, and NEVER take even a moment to just look at it. They just want to say, “Oh, I have a painting by So-n-so in my boudoir.” It’s nice they want to buy your books, but I know you’d rather GIVE your books to someone who will actually appreciate them.

    January 29, 2013 at 7:31 am

    • You are exactly right. I would rather have them read than take someone’s money who doesn’t want them. If I was out to make money I would’ve quit writing a long time ago. Ha ha, I loved your funny story by the way 😉

      January 29, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Leave a Reply

