Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Secret Scarlet Intro.

“Set your sights on heaven and you shall be cast into hell.”

 

This comes a little late but here is my intro for my WIP: Secret Scarlet.  I am almost finished writing it and have exceeded my goal of 60k, which is awesome.  I started it about two weeks ago when I was forced to take off work because of my pinched nerve (which still hurts like a bitch btw) and because I’ve been in bed a lot I’ve done a lot of writing-and consumed lots of Pepsi.

Soo…..here’s the lowdown on Secret Scarlet if you haven’t been stalking my Current WIP tab.

Story Description:  After an audition for a modeling gig goes wrong, Scarlet finds herself doing something she’s ashamed of-something sinful and dark.  She leads a double life as Lady Rose, dressing up like living doll for a man she knows only as Master Red.  He is the gateway drug into the dangerous world of vampires and she is blinded by the mass of attention she gets from men who fall in love with her alter ego Lady Rose.  Unfortunately her rare beauty will be her downfall and it’s not long before vampires more dangerous than Master Red catch sight of the rare white rabbit and vow to make her their own.

 

A passage I’m pretty proud of:

His voice was seductive, so low only she could hear, “What are you doing here?”

She reached up and touched his face, wiping some of the blood from his lips, “I heard the devil was here.”  Her tongue licked it slowly from her finger as she sent him a wicked smile, “And like a bad girl, I snuck into his den of sin because I couldn’t resist getting a glimpse of his face.”

When she flirted with him he didn’t come back with a rude remark, this time he encouraged her, “I’ll break your wings and drag you to hell my princess.”  They both shared a devilish laugh, the Count holding onto her hips, his nose resting against hers.

“If it means being trapped in the arms of the devil, I’d commit any sin to stay here.”

10 responses

  1. Awesome. Congrats on reaching your target as well. Ive been struggling lately, and know how difficult it gets sometimes

    January 4, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    • If I find myself stuck and not able to write anymore I go back and try to find out where the story got boring for me and erase everything after that. That’s works most of the time. What’s your goal?

      January 4, 2013 at 6:14 pm

      • finishing the damn story 😛 i know where it needs to go, just cant seem to link it sometimes

        January 4, 2013 at 6:17 pm

        • How far are you?

          January 4, 2013 at 6:26 pm

          • 38000 words in, about a third of the way through the major plot points! getting there slowly, just trying to get over the winter lull. its a bit of a slog, but keeping myself busy with short stories and some fan fiction stuff 😛
            just wanted to say congrats on nearly finishing yours, and that the beginning sounds brilliant

            January 4, 2013 at 6:30 pm

            • You’re a pro author so you’ll finish it eventually 😉 And thanks for the congrats, when I’m done with this one I’ll force myself to take a little break from writing and do some editing.

              January 4, 2013 at 6:48 pm

  2. Umm…Wow. That is incredible!!

    January 4, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    • The storyline or hitting my WC goal?

      January 4, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Leave a Reply

