Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Show me yours and I’ll show you mine….

writing at laptop
<<<<<<<<Someday I will be rich and famous like Mary Fisher.>>>>>>>>>

I’m lazy today and didn’t want to post any excerpts so I’m doing a fun post instead. I thought about doing the Fictioneers thing but I’m getting bored of homework like that.

========================================================================================

This is my laptop.  It’s my favoritest electric gadget I own.  I got this one about two years ago after my son stepped on my last one and busted the screen.  As you can see, I type a lot from the wear on my keys.  It originally had a nice grey keyboard but some soda got spilt on it and the replacement I bought had black keys so it no longer matches.

It’s a rebuild so a lot of it is bits and pieces from other broken laptops so I call it my frankenlaptop.  We have 20 computers in our house, no kidding.  My son has two touch screen ones with windows 8 on them (I hate windows 8!!).

I have a mini one too but don’t use it much because it sucks to type on so I only use it on trips and things like that.  This one is my baby though….and it’s almost always on my lap or near me.  My whole world is on this thing; all my pictures, my games, my stories.

121312153942 (2)

=======================================================================================

The next picture is of something I’m working on-well since this picture is old it’s about four of five pages longer than this today.  So if you want to read an excerpt here you go, although it is not AT ALL edited so no comments on that please.  As I glance at the picture I can find several errors but oh well, it’s a WIP and I have plenty of time to edit it later.

wip

=======================================================================================

I write A LOT so I try to keep everything neatly organized so I can find everything quickly when I need to.  Every story has it’s own folder that includes notes, outlines, drafts, cutouts, covers etc.  This is the folder where all my stories are kept, my short pieces don’t go in here, only future books do.

It’s worth money-seriously-so you should be honored to get a glimpse into it.  The next picture is of my finished books/stories.  It’s a great feeling to move a story to this folder.  This is my trophy folder-it makes me smile just seeing it open.  Hee hee…..AWESOMENESS….

121312181705

=======================================================================================

This is the folder holds all my WIPs.  There’s a lot in here.  Several drafts hide in each folder, sometimes two or three different stories I’ve started in each one.  It’s a jumble of everything I’m working on and because they only have temporary names (usually I type save it with the main character’s name), so disregard the titles because they aren’t at all permanent.

Stories don’t get a title till they get moved to the main folder.  This is the folder that is usually always open on my desktop and unless my laptop restarted itself sneakily while I’m sleeping (which is loves to do), there is always an open word document on my desktop.  I will leave it open for a day or two even if I’m not working on it.  It reminds me that I need to either move on to working on another story or finish this one.

121312181722

=======================================================================================

Okay-so that’s about it.  I hope you enjoyed snooping on my desktop and getting a glimpse into what I do to keep my massive collection of stories organized.

So….what does your lap warmer look like?  I’m curious to see if anyone will play along and play a game of show me yours, I’ll show you mine.  Come on….I know you so wanna…

6 responses

  1. TheOthers1

    Maybe I’ll do this on Sunday or Monday. I love showing off the Mac.

    December 14, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    • You should 😉

      December 14, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  2. Don’t forget to backup your folders often.. : )

    December 15, 2012 at 2:27 am

    • Oh yes! I had a scare a few years ago but luckily know a very nice man who can get that kind of stuff off broken computers. I lost some of my older ones before that but luckily had them typed or hand written. I’ve never gotten around to retyping them. Someday I guess. Now I carry a backup thumb drive in my purse, so wherever I go my stories go 😉

      December 15, 2012 at 9:17 am

  3. how do i put pictures in comments?

    December 17, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • You can’t silly. You hasta put them in your own post or send ’em to me.

      December 18, 2012 at 5:00 am

Leave a Reply

