Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Video Games

I don’t feel creative today so I decided to do a more personal post.  A post about old video games came to mind.  I got the idea while talking to my brother about beating something on Zelda Skyward Sword (which I beat before him.  Maybe because I owned it a week before it came out??  Ha ha…)

As a girl growing up with a video game loving older brother, I gained a love for them as well.  My greatest memories of being a kid is renting a video game on a holiday break and camping in the basement for a week playing it.  I don’t know if kids ‘rent’ games anymore but when I was younger that’s what we did.

I remember when my brother got his Sega and Nintendo for Christmas and he wouldn’t let me play it because I was the whiney little sister that would bug him and his friends.  That’s when the eww…little sister factor was in effect.  It wasn’t until I was older and out of the barbie stage that we got along better.  It did get awkward when I was a teenager because then I was the hot little sister that my brother’s geeky friends all had crushes on.  I did get some free games from that though lol…

The most memorable game we rented and later bought was Secret of Mana, which was a two player game.  And…there was a girl in it!  As a kid I loved that.  SNES rocked!  Mario Cart and Chrono Trigger were some of my other favorites.

Playing games with my brother is one of my favorite childhood memories.  Did I mention he’s a Zelda super fan?  Well he is.  He used to time himself on how long it took to beat Zelda on SNES.  I think it was eight…or was it four?  Ha ha, I’ll have to ask him next time I see him to make sure.

I remember having that whole Playstation verses N64 debate with him.  I was a die hard FF fan and he a Zelda fan (FF9 is my favoritest game of all time by the way).  For some reason he didn’t like the playstation.  Hmm…well speaking of N64 there were some awesome games made for that.

Like….

James Bond and Perfect Dark.  I loved those games and we’d play them for hours.  Unfortunately my brother memorized where all the people popped up again after they died.  He would plant proximity mines in those places so you’d blow you up before you even got a chance to move.

We’d get in arguments over that all the time.  It so wasn’t fair!  Too bad he was bigger than me.  Then there was those laptop guns…wicked.  The golden gun was fun too though and having lots of meat sims running around made you feel all powerful. 🙂

I also, as an immature kid, thought it was hilarious you could put men’s heads on woman’s bodies in Perfect Dark.  We’d make the alien with lady’s head, or an alien in a dress, just funny stuff like that.

I was also a fan of Quake and Turok, if anyone remembers those games.  In Turok I wanted to shoot those kids by the time I found them.  That constant screaming of,  “Turok, save me!”  Cry, cry, “Turok save me!”, drove me nuts!  Stay in your damn cage, you’re in a tree I can’t reach you.

Then there’s Duke Nukem.  I loved the interactions in the bathroom and tossing the money at strippers.  That game was fun.

My mom didn’t like this game and it’s the first I remember there being an ‘adult’ mode.  Ha ha, like we kids would put that on.

One of the new games I ADORE is Fallout.  That game is freakin’ awesome!  Except those damn Deathclaws, those things still scare the crap outta me.  They’ll come up behind you and claw the crap outta you and you’ll be dead just like that.  Ekk… those guys still make me jump every time they appear and don’t get me started on Cazadors…those little buggers drive me nuts!

I played the first two Fallouts which were a little different from Fallout 3 but I still liked those too.  The woman with the funny eye in the village still gives me the creeps.  The battles in that one are nowhere near as awesome as in the new fallout though.

What makes Fallout great is you can be the bad guy or the good guy and you make your own path.  I do admit though, I did use the fatman to kill some townspeople for fun.  It’s okay if you don’t save right?  Come on…you wanted to kill Dukov and steal his bitches and guns didn’t you?

Did I mention there’s a few chicks you can bang in the game?  I remember stealing the chick in the arena’s clothes and putting the sexy underwear in her inventory so that’s all she could wear.  Ha ha!

My favorite side kick in the game so far has been Fawkes, because you could beat him up and he wouldn’t fight back, well to an extent lol.  It kinda reminds me of when you call the moogle on the world map a million times he tells you he’s sharpening his knife.  Ha ha…

I like Grandma too, it’s hilarious to hear her battle cries.

17 responses

  1. TheOthers1

    My younger brother has played a few of those games. I was more a Mario fan if I played any games at all. Some of those games just didn’t hold my attention long enough.

    July 29, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    • My problem was they held my attention ‘too’ much lol

      July 30, 2012 at 10:51 am

  2. Commander

    Nice post. All games I remember playing growing up.My sister never got into games like I did though. She would dabble in king’s quest and quest for glory, but that was about it. Her interest would fade over time while mine grew. I still haven’t out grown them. Even have a Mario tattoo on my leg.

    And your post reminds me, I still haven’t finished skyward sword.

    July 29, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    • I’ve never played those games but I think I probably would’ve. I liked video games but didn’t get into that goblin football game (can’t remember what it called) or those large board games with figures things like he did. Like you I haven’t grown out of games either because there’s always great new ones coming out. Ha ha and you should finish zelda. I could give you some tips lol. I hated that dude at the shrine, cursed him and the time limit lots of times. And seriously, Link needs to grow some balls in the beginning of that game, it’s just hurtful watching it lol. I’ve been playing twilight princess (because i never owned it) and am hating those stupid wolf levels, it’s hard to do on Wii for some reason. I love it otherwise. Sucks your sister didn’t get into games but I guess then you never had to fight over who got to play it first like me and my brother did!

      July 30, 2012 at 11:00 am

  3. I was rubbish at video games I think partly because I was older when they came out and was just past learning that particular brand of hand eye co ordination lol

    July 30, 2012 at 3:25 am

    • Does your son? Mine has a few Thomas games on the Wii

      July 30, 2012 at 11:01 am

      • he doesn’t play them but he likes to watch his big sister play on it he likes the driving games and those bloody rabbit things on the wii

        July 30, 2012 at 11:06 am

        • Oh those rabbits? I don’t like those either, annoying lol. We have the game but don’t play it.

          July 30, 2012 at 11:08 am

          • my daughter loves them she has them all the only plus is watching her trying to do the dancing bits hehehe one day will film her while she doesnt realise

            July 30, 2012 at 11:24 am

            • Ha ha, you so should 😉

              July 30, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  4. When we got our first Nintendo, it was like a xmas miracle! We were so excited – until our parents started racing through dinner so they could play Mario Bros. first! Watching my mother play was hilarious, though. She used to swing the controller around when she wanted Mario to jump. She once whipped the cord into my little brother’s face by accident – also hilarious.

    I too love the Zelda series – they just always get better, I think. I’ll have to try Fallout sometime – looks fun!

    Have you tried any of the Fable games? They’re my absolute favorite! I still can’t decide if I like Fable 2 or 3 better.

    July 30, 2012 at 6:34 am

    • Your parents used to play? That’s cool and the racing through dinner thing sounds like something us kids would’ve done lol. I played fable 2 on the pc, the fastness of the movement made me sick to my stomach at times though lol. I did like it though. I think the same thing about Zelda, they do keep getting better, I wish I could say that about the FF series, those get more disappointing as time goes on. And you should so try Fallout! I love it and it’s got an almost unlimited storyline.

      July 30, 2012 at 11:06 am

  5. Pingback: TV Tropes Monday: Ridiculously Human Robot « Neither Here nor There….

  6. best video game ever was the super nintendo zelda. i always forget the name of it. i think “link to the past” but i’m not sure.

    November 17, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    • You’re right. That was the one I was referencing.

      November 17, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      • i remember how excited i got when i thought the game was over and then realized there was this whole other dark world and i basically had to play the whole game over again. if you have a nintendo wii, you can buy that game and download it into the wii.

        November 17, 2012 at 12:56 pm

        • You get it as an emulater game on the pc as well. That’s where I got all my snes games.

          November 17, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Leave a Reply

