Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Rules I need to follow as a writer so I don’t go nuts.

Get in touch with your muse.  He’s super hot and is a good happy thought. Also he’s sexy enough to get people excited to read all the dirty little parts in that book you’re writing. 🙂

> Except that the chances of becoming a successful author are very slim.

> Always remember who I write for-me, myself and sometimes maybe you.

> Accept I will never get rich and famous from my writing-I am no J.K., I’m H.N.  Close but not the same.

> No matter how much someone bashes my writing, I will never give up.

> Don’t take bad criticism to heart.  Try and learn from it.

> It’s okay to cry if I get a bad review or a rejection letter, we all do even though we don’t admit it.  (so if you’re a publisher stalking my sight, people have probably called you every swear word in the book behind your back.  Just saying.)

> I wrote a book.  That makes me an author.  I don’t have to be famous to have this title.

Realize how amazing a feat it is to actually write a book.  Lots of people wish they could do that.  I’m awesome.  Totally awesome.

> It’s okay to daydream about finishing the chapter I’m working while I’m at work.  It makes it less of a death sentence.

> I am an awesome writer!  It’s one of my greatest talents.

> When reviewing or commenting on someone’s writing, never say it sucks, or tell them to stop writing.

> Accept that not everyone will like what I write.  It’s like country music is to me-icky but to others it’s awesome.  I am somebody’s awesome.  (If I’m your kind of awesome, feel free to tell me, I like stuff like that.)

Find a fan.  Having someone to cheer me on in my writing makes me want to write better and more. Thanks Jennifer!

 

> Never set impossible goals for my writing.  If I want to write, I write.  If I want to go to the water park with Kyle, I’ll go to the water park with Kyle.  Never make writing a job (unless you’re super lucky and actually get paid to write)

> Expect to be poor.  Most writers are, as are artists. See next rule…

> Marry someone rich so I can write all day and not have to work.

> Even though I think I’m done editing a book, I never am.

> Apologize for calling the program ‘word’ a son of a bitch because it froze on page 150 of 200 on a spell check.

Okay…now stop looking at this super cute kitty and leave a comment to contribute one of your own rules.

23 responses

  1. Write and when in doubt, write some more.

    June 27, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    • I like that one 😉

      June 27, 2012 at 7:26 pm

  2. TheOthers1

    You are awesome. 🙂

    My rule? Vent when you need to then get back to writing.

    June 27, 2012 at 7:50 pm

    • Thanks, you’re awesome too 😉 I never thought of that rule but it works. Thanks for contributing. And when am I going to see more of your pirate story?!

      June 28, 2012 at 4:47 am

      • TheOthers1

        Probably not for a while. I’ve got other stuff to tackle first. Not sure if I’ll be putting anymore up on my blog until I finish the beauty and the beast one.

        June 28, 2012 at 6:39 am

        • I guess ill have to just read that one then 😉

          June 28, 2012 at 9:26 am

  3. Well Heidi I have never been a “fan” of the genre in which you write…but I read every post you publish with relish. I love reading your work, because I get drawn in (think moth to a flame, without the nasty life ending results). I am captivated by your characters and I feel like I am right in their midst, kind of like that fly on the wall scenario. I love your stuff. So you have a convert here.

    I hope you never give up writing because of the pure and simple fact that I enjoy your work immensely.

    Thanks…and don’t even think about giving up.

    Be encouraged!

    June 27, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    • Aww…thanks Stephen. Your comments always make me feel good and I’m glad there’s people out there like you who like what I write. It truely makes me want to write more and more! And thanks for the encouragement, I could definitely use some of that today! Thanks agian and yes, I will probably never stop writing cause I love it so much.

      June 28, 2012 at 4:54 am

  4. Reblogged this on 42 Webs.

    June 27, 2012 at 8:21 pm

  5. I love your awesome rules of awesomeness!

    And that first pic 😉

    June 27, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    • Drew you in didn’t it? 🙂

      June 28, 2012 at 4:54 am

  6. sashabella

    Don’t be scared to ask for help or to talk about your story when you get stuck (writers block). Most of the time writers are so lost in their own heads, hearing someone else’s ideas helps create a conversation and begins a new line of brainstorming, which leads the writer to ultimately decide what direction they want to take the story in.
    This was a really great post by the way, I really appreciated your tips and advice! =]

    June 27, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    • You’re welcome 😉 I like that discussing idea, good rule. That’s why I love wordpress, there’s so many writers on here that getting lots of that kind of advice is easy. All of us cool people in one place rocks.

      June 28, 2012 at 4:57 am

  7. Zen

    “Marry someone rich so I can write all day and not have to work.” – that made me laugh. What if I’m a writer and I’m marrying a writer? Are we doomed? xD

    June 28, 2012 at 3:44 am

    • Ha ha, no. I was just joking with that one. Hopefully one of you two will get rich enough off your writing to let you follow the rule 😉

      June 28, 2012 at 4:59 am

  8. You forgot encourage you blog stalkers 😉 My days are never quite complete unless I get to come here and visit

    June 28, 2012 at 9:56 am

    • Awww…thank you blog stalker. You make my day knowing you care enough about me to stalk my profile. I stalk yours too so we is even ;). So what do I need to post to ‘encourage’ more blog stalkers to follow me?

      June 28, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      • Well as we all ready get lots of your wonderfully stories that is a hard one I guess I would love to see you turn your creativity to something different but only every now and again maybe a demon inspired poem 🙂

        June 28, 2012 at 1:08 pm

        • I suck at poetry but maybe I can try someday for you 😉

          June 28, 2012 at 1:22 pm

  9. Thanks for mentioning me but I bet you have more fans than just me. You just don’t know it yet. “Always do what makes you happy and try and stay positive. 🙂 Love you.

    July 2, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    • Awww….thanks Jennifer! And yes, I do have a few fans but you’re my favorite 😉

      July 3, 2012 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

