Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Smashwords?

Test cover for Christian’s Kisses: Initiation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=====================================================

I have a question for my fellow writers.  Have any of you used smashwords?  If so how do you like it?

I had a few people recommend it and I was thinking of using it to publish some of my stories.  It seems to be a lot better than the amazon kindle thing.  And there’s an option to make it free?!  I thought that was kinda neat.

But because I don’t know much about it I would like some opinions from those who have used it.  I’m not set on doing anything quite yet, it was just a thought.

So…opinions??

21 responses

  1. not tried either but I thought the amazon thing was free? but I haven’t really looked into it maybe you have to pay to have the set up on their were they let you give away freebies. Have to be honest am not too keen on the test cover somehow doesn’t quite match the image I have of christian from your descriptions this guy looks a bit rough and ready rather than sauve and sophisicated….sorry

    May 23, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    • That’s okay. I was just playing around in photoshop today and it’s just something I quickly put together. I have the perfect picture to use but….I worry about copyright things. Thanks for your opinion. I was thinking the same thing. It doesn’t look like my Christian. Hmm…I will see if I can come up with another. It’s fun working on this stuff. I’ll try another and see what you all think.

      May 23, 2012 at 5:40 pm

      • do you know anyone who looks like your version of christian you could get to pose for you lol that would be one way round copyright 🙂

        May 23, 2012 at 5:55 pm

        • Ha ha…I wish! What about you? Do you know anyone who looks like him? I was envisioning him as spanish looking, not mexican but like spanish lol. I’d love to find someone with his eyes. I will have to keep trying. Maybe I will stumble upon it.

          May 23, 2012 at 6:01 pm

          • do you know its strange because I know he should have dark eyes but…I do have a pic of how I think his eyes would look as in the way the penetrate your soul

            May 23, 2012 at 6:21 pm

            • Actually he has blue eyes, a very icy color blue. You should send the pic to my email and I’ll see if I can do something with it. Thanks for the help Paula 😉

              May 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm

        • Maybe I’ll get super artsy and draw one of him. Hmm…

          May 23, 2012 at 6:06 pm

  2. I HIGHLY recommend it. I’ve published all four of my books on Smashwords. It’s very easy to use and offers your book to all sorts of tablets and e-readers (including ITunes). And you can publish for free.
    Have you published print versions of your book? Have you looked at CreateSpace?

    May 23, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    • Yes I published a few with createspace which is awesome for printed books. I just wanted to try something different. Thanks for your advice. I might try it 🙂

      May 23, 2012 at 6:56 pm

      • If you need any help let me know…I’d be happy to help!

        May 23, 2012 at 7:20 pm

        • Okay! Thanks, I might just do that 😉

          May 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  3. Hi there! I have not published on Smashwords but I get a lot of my e-books there. I really like it for that and I like that it supports many different formats, including the Kindle, I believe.

    Before I saw this post, I was actually considering contacting you because I have had a quick look and I would love to read some of your stuff. I know it is silly, but I actually hate reading fiction on my computer and I was going to ask if you had anything prepared in any other format so that I could read it on my nook.

    I hope you like Smashwords and I will keep my eye out for your work there.

    Good luck!

    May 23, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    • I do have some books listed on Amazon and there is kindle versions of them there too. Im not liking the kindle version option on there though. They make you set the price of it as 2.99 or higher and lots of people said they need a kindle to read them. I have no idea how those things work cause i don’t have one. This is why i was considerating smashwords. I may have something published on there in the future. Ha ha I’m waiting for a few more rejections to come back from publishers first.

      May 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      • Oh. Lol. I didn’t think to look on Amazon, but yeah, I don’t have a Kindle, so I guess it wouldn’t have mattered. When I was choosing which e-reader I wanted to get, I went with the nook specifically because it seemed more supportive of self-published authors. Smashwords seems to give a lot of freedom to authors and it also offers the highest percentage of profits to the authors.

        But in the meantime I’ll be sending you good vibes about those publisher letters!

        May 23, 2012 at 9:20 pm

        • Thanks for the good vibes and the interest in my books! I’ll make sure to keep you updated on when and if I publish anything on there. I’d love it if I could transfer some of my previously published ones over there too. I will have to look further into the matter and see if that is even possible.

          May 24, 2012 at 4:54 am

      • Just wanted to correct a mistake. Amazon doesn’t require you to price your book at 2.99 or higher. You can price it at $.99 if you want. Below 2.99 your royalty goes down to 35% instead of 70% for the higher priced books.

        May 24, 2012 at 9:41 am

  4. Hey, Heidi! I like your cover, but if you’re not sure if the photo you’re using is of “public domain” it could definitely ruin your day if you violate someones copyright for the image. There are a lot of “royalty free stock” sites you can try. I’ve found some “unrestricted use” photos on deviantart.com that can be used for ANYTHING (as long as you alter them.) If you want some help making a cover, let me know. I love doing photo manipulation, and I’d do it just for the fun of it. OH – and check out ipiccy.com for photo editing as well. It’s very easy to use, lets you layer and add text.
    As far as Smashwords, I’ve only got my short story on there for free, so I’ve never made money with them. You CAN’T offer books for free on Amazon unless you enroll them in the Kindle Select Program and do giveaways. I’ve been trying to get them to price match my free short story for months! Smashwords is also good because they offer books for a number of different formats, including Kindle. They even offer you a free ISBN so you can offer your work to the Apple store (required for them.)
    GOOD LUCK! 😀

    May 24, 2012 at 7:05 am

    • Thanks for the advice and links. I will definitely check them out when i get near a PC. N yes that’s what i hate about Amazon too! Its worthless if u ask me. As far a photo altering goes i pretty good at photoshop. Actually i altered one of the covers a lot, like taking out facial hair changing shape of face etc. I love doing stuff like that too. Thanks agian for the help!

      May 24, 2012 at 9:20 am

Leave a Reply

