Inside the mind of a fantasy writer

Uh oh…

Okay….

I guess I lied.

I slipped up again but don’t tell my Obsessive Writer’s Anonymous Group.  They’ll take my laptop away and break my fingers.

I started writing another book.  Actually I never fully ‘stopped’ thinking about writing a new one, I just was avoiding it.  Now I’m afraid I might be getting caught up with the write-itus again (my son calls everything something-itus because of the Doc McStuffins show).

I probably should wait a little bit before posting any excerpts from it despite my excitement.  So in Heidi time that’s……probably a day.  I can’t wait for things, I’m terribly impulsive and a non-waiter.

Anyway…..so with that off my chest I take a big sigh.  Please pray for me.  I need to stop writing obsessively.

10 responses

  1. I wish I could write as much as you mine seems to be taking forever but then i get so easily distracted like the fact I am just in the middle of setting up my bad guy for his demise and I end up here reading your blog lmao

    May 2, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    • How long is it so far?

      May 2, 2012 at 7:17 pm

      • 203 pages or 48,637 words have about 6 chapters still to write then start on the editing

        May 3, 2012 at 3:32 am

        • 200 pages? What’s your goal WC or do you not have one? I never have a goal, I just ramble ha ha. I envy that trait in other people’s writing, to plan I mean. I can never reach a goal if I set one as you have. I hope those six chapters come quick for you!

          May 3, 2012 at 4:57 am

          • am expecting it to probably hit around the 350 page mark by the time I finish next draft have been so busy getting the story line and plot sorted that quite a few descriptive passages require some attention. Having never done this before I have no idea how many pages a novel should be lol or how many words is there a standard? maybe i should look into that lol

            May 3, 2012 at 5:22 am

            • Publishers look at WC, not page numbers. I didn’t know that until someone told me either. For example my longest novel is 296 actual pages (that’s in Word) and it’s 141k. See the difference? WC is a more accurate way to judge the size of a novel. Page count vaires depending on the font, spacing, etc that you use.

              May 3, 2012 at 5:29 am

              • okay so my word count at the minute is just short of 48k I guess it will finish around the 100k mark is there a preferred word count does anyone know?

                May 3, 2012 at 6:02 am

                • I think to be considered a novel has to be 70k+. It varies between publishers, you’ll just have to check that stuff out in the submission guidelines.

                  May 3, 2012 at 1:41 pm

  2. Write write write! That’s all we can do.
    And my son loves Doc McStuffins, too. I think my husband thinks its a “girl’s show”, but I could care less so long as it’s educational is some way.

    May 3, 2012 at 6:23 am

    • And it seems to make them less scared of the real doctor, which I love 😉

      May 3, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Leave a Reply

